Gluten Free Diet or Celiac Diet
Who needs to eat a gluten-free diet?
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, triticale, malt and some oats. A gluten-free diet is used to treat Celiac Disease and may be considered in patients thought to have a gluten sensitivity or diarrhea predominant irritable bowel syndrome. A gluten-free diet helps control signs and symptoms and prevent long-term complications; it is the only treatment for Celiac Disease.
Avoid all food and drinks containing:
- Malt (including malt flavoring and malt vinegar)
- Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
- Wheat (all types of wheat including whole, bromated, enriched, phosphate, self-rishing)
- Alternate forms of wheat
*Speak with your doctor or dietitian to determine if you need to avoid oats.
Unless specifically labeled gluten-free, avoid:
- Bread and bread products like croutons, crackers and matzo
- Baked goods like cake, cookies, cupcakes, muffins, scones, doughnuts and pie
- Oats (if permitted per your doctor or dietitian)
- Soup and soup-bases
- Soy sauce
Read ingredients and/or speak with servers to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients have been used:
- Deep-fried foods, even if non-gluten based like French fries and tortilla chips
- Imitation meat or seafood
- Processed deli meats
- Salad dressings, sauces and gravies
- Seasoned rice mixes
- Seasoned snack foods like potato chips
- Self-basting poultry
- Any gluten-free food that has been contaminated
- Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. It can happen during the manufacturing process or during food preparation at home or in a restaurant. It is important to read labels and handle foods carefully. Always speak with servers about your dietary restrictions when dining out.
*In addition to foods and beverages that may contain gluten, check that all vitamins and medications are gluten free by reading bottles, speaking to your pharmacist or calling companies directly.
- Fresh, unprocessed foods like beans, meat, poultry, fish, eggs, fruits, vegetables and nuts
- Most dairy products
- Gluten-free grains & flours
- Corn and cornmeal
- Hominy (corn)
Switching to a gluten-free diet can be challenging but there are many substitutes and resources. Meet with our dietitian for additional information on how to live healthfully gluten-free.